Macadamia Nut Pesto

MACADAMIA NUT PESTO

I always think I’ll be able to blog during the uni semester but once again I underestimated how much work is involved in my dietetics degree. But no matter, I’m back! And hopefully better at time management. And if you’Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetre someone who is time poor, you’ll absolutely love this macadamia nut pesto recipe. It takes almost no time to make but can boost the flavour of just about any dish. Pesto is traditionally made with pine nuts but I stumbled across a great looking recipe here that used macadamia nuts so I have modified it to my taste buds just for you!

FullSizeRender

Macadamias are unquestionably my favourite nut. Perhaps it was because my dad always made them out to be the ultimate treat when I was growing up (sneaky dad) but when they’re freshly roasted with a touch of honey and salt, boy are they hard to beat! Macadamias contain ~18g of heart healthy monounsaturated fatty acids per 30g serve (about a handful of nuts). Just a reminder that all fats aren’t bad and the fats that are found in nuts and seeds are rich in the types of fat you want to be including in your diet. Just watch your portions as a small amount (~30g) is enough to deliver a good dose of the healthy fats you need. Other than that, I used macadamias in this because I love to use Australian ingredients wherever I can.

The end result of this pesto is more like a thick dip than a pasta sauce. But that’s OK because this kind of texture works well on crackers, in sandwiches and as a coating on meats (you can use it before or after cooking). If you want to make it looser for pasta, simply add more olive oil (and a touch of the water the pasta was cooking in) until you get a consistency that coats the pasta. If you want more meal inspo, check out my Instagram account as my lovely followers have had a field day brainstorming some other delicious dishes that use pesto.

IMG_9768

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Macadamia Nut Pesto

Ingredients:

2 cups of tightly packed basil leaves (about 2 bunches from the supermarket)

2-3 cloves of garlic

½ cup macadamia nuts – lightly toasted

½ cup extra virgin olive oil (I use Cobram Estate because it’s high in antioxidants and has a great peppery flavour)

3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 tsp lemon juice

pinch of salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Blend basil, garlic and macadamia nuts together in a food processor until a grainy paste is formed
  2. Add in olive oil, parmesan cheese and season with salt and pepper and blend until combined?
  3. Serve in pasta, on cooked chicken or fish, in scrambled eggs, spread onto sandwiches or however you please.
  4. ENJOY!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

